You Don’t Have To Try Too Hard, So Keep It Honest.

So, lets talk about covering the upcoming presidential election for a sec.

For those of you who don’t know, this November there will be an election for POTUS between the incumbent Barack Obama, Democrat, and Mitt Romney, Republican.

I won’t pull any punches with you guys. I don’t like Mitt Romney. I don’t like Mitt Romney because he is a Republican. I don’t like Mitt Romney because he wants to repeal legislation that gives me health insurance, keeps my husband in this country, and gives me control over my own body. I don’t like Mitt Romney because he lives by the adage “he who has the gold makes the rules.” I don’t like Mitt Romney because his strategy for winning the Republican nomination has pushed that party so far to the right they’re pretty much living in the Atlantic Ocean and killed any hope of moderation and compromise in Congress.

Image

“Lots of people are hurting financially these days, I should be modest with my gambling. $10,000 isn’t too much, right?”

That being said, I also don’t like it when people cheat and fudge things to make it seem like someone said something they didn’t. For example, I think its pretty dumb that a major news outlet takes a video of Romney and edits it so that he sounds like a Looney Toon. Addendum: more of a Looney Toon than he already is.

ImageImage

Compare the facial expressions. Gold.

Guys, selective editing is a fact of life these days. Most people’s attention spans are pretty small, and people don’t want to sit there and listen to a 25 minute video to get the whole context of what someone is saying. TL;DR (Editor’s Note: too long; didn’t read) is alive and well. So part of the fault lies with the dumbo who took 25 minutes to make the point that the bureaucracy in this country is cumbersome by comparing it to how easy it is to order a sandwich. I’m not saying that the editing done by MSNBC was ok. It was kind of a dick thing to do.

That being said, I also want to point out two things. Firstly, any network who screams and hollers about this one really bad episode of selective editing had better be damn sure they never engage in this practice before they start pointing fingers.

Image

I’m looking at you, fuckers.

Secondly, I have to tell you guys, you really don;t have to work that hard to make Romney look out of touch. “(D)uring a visit to the Daytona International Speedway, Romney said he had “some friends who are NASCAR team owners.” Then, in an interview about football with a sports radio host in Alabama, he mentioned he had “a lot of good friends — the owners of the Miami Dolphins and New York Jets.” And will his insistence that dressage is his wife Ann’s passion, and not his, convince voters watching her mare compete in the London Olympics next month that he isn’t a member of the horsey set? Not if they recall his rhetorical $10,000 wager in a GOP presidential debate. Or his saying he made “a little bit of money” — actually $360,000 — in speaking fees. Planning a $12 million renovation on his California house, including a four-car garage equipped with an elevator, also doesn’t help.”

The story is here, for those of you who want the whole thing in context. Don’t say I never gave you anything.

3 responses to “You Don’t Have To Try Too Hard, So Keep It Honest.

  1. Seriously?????? Take away your healthcare??? You mean the free healthcare that I and every other TAXPAYER is paying for? And is your husband an illegal alien? Then take the steps to make him not a criminal. I am the grandchild of immigrants to this country and the government never printed anything in Italian to help them. The sheeple of this country need to wake up and get this mess under control. Nobody wants to take your “reproductive rights” away from you, but you need to pay for your own condoms. We need the government out of our wallets, our bedrooms, and our business.We need people to get over this sense of entitlement that seems to prevail in your generation.THE GOVERNMENT OWES YOU NOTHING!!! The greatest thing about this country is that if you want it bad enough, you can get it with hard work and perseverance. Perhaps You should read the Constitution, the bill of rights, and our other founding documents to find how far astray we have come. Remember we are a representative republic, NOT a democracy. B. Franklin drew the best analogy ever “A democracy is 2 wolves and a sheep voting on what to have for lunch, A republic is the sheep saying I want a recount” We are on the cusp of something very unpleasant that has not visited our country in many years. Pray that it does not happen…..

  2. Do you have any idea how hard it was for me to get healthcare? No, you don’t. No one would give me health insurance because I had mild HPV five years ago. Also, have you looked at the premiums for women verses men for health insurance? They’re up to 40% more, simply because we grow other people in our vaginas. If it weren’t for the new regulations saying insurance providers can’t discriminate based on preexisting conditions, I wouldn’t be able to get health insurance. Anyone who wants to repeal the legislation that protects me from discrimination because I’m female is automatically in my shit book. I pay taxes too you know. So why am I, as a TAXPAYING CITIZEN, not allowed to take advantage of the services I’m funding?
    Peter is not an illegal alien, but if, as Romney says, he wants to make the Arizona immigration policy the blueprint for the country, then it bothers me that my husband, future children, hell even by Italian brother and stepfather could be thrown in jail if they happen to drive to the store without their drivers license.
    We’re all the children of immigrants, btw. I’m Irish, English and German. Did I say anything about printing things in other languages? No, but I do think its deplorable that we are the only country whose average citizen is not bilingual or even trilingual. Its not about a “takeover by the brown people,” its about opening yourself up to other cultures and ways of thinking about the world through learning another language. Since you brought it up.
    And I agree that what happens in the bedroom is no one else’s business, which is why I get really pissed when some other people’s morality is crammed down my throat. If you think abortion is wrong, don’t fucking get one. I would never, ever get an abortion. I want children so much it hurts sometimes. But thats my OWN PERSONAL DECISION about MY GODDAMN BODY, which I don’t expect anyone else to share about theirs. Oh, and its not as easy as “paying for my own condoms.” those fuckers are expensive, and health clinics in communities and on college campuses actually ration them.
    The government DOES in fact owe me something. It owes me protection from other people legislating their own morality and forcing their prejudices, mores and ethics down my throat. THAT is what we are on the cusp of in this country. I HAVE read those fucking documents, and I am sick and tired of people falling back on that tired old scold, “read the Constitution.” Within that document it outlines my freedoms, freedom from people who are richer than me being in charge because of their wealth, freedom from other people’s religious views making it hard if not damn near impossible to live me life as my conscience, my god, and my own carefully developed code of morality dictate.

Leave a Reply

