Don’t Hate Me Because I’m Electronic

by Eve Guevara

 

Several months ago I had a discussion with an acquaintance about owning an E-reader.

“Those things suck! I’ll never get one, I like real books.”

I tried to talk her into trying it out, but she flatly refused.

“You’re a big reader, why do you have an E-reader?”

It was almost an accusation, like having an E-reader was the worst thing evar. Since this person was an acquaintance I couldn’t tell her she was a prime silly ass. I reserve the right to harangue only my good friends.

 

Look! You even have a song!

 

“Oh it doesn’t smell like a book!” “Oh, it doesn’t feel like a book!” “Oh, you can’t write in it and make notes in the margins!”

Rubbish. It’s like paper book holdouts are complaining about skiing on fake snow as opposed to real snow. Or drifting along placidly in a lazy river in a water park as opposed to drifting along placidly in a river in the boonies somewhere. “Oh, it doesn’t smell like river water!” “Oh, it doesn’t feel like real snow!”  You’re still skiing, right? Your ass is still stuck in a floatie in a bathing suit looking like one of my favorite insults (see previous graphic).

 

You would look just as ridiculous in a real river.

 

You can highlight and make notes, “dog-ear” pages, and most E-readers even have a dictionary feature included, as well as enough space for reading music to be downloaded onto the device. Besides those awesome thingies, there are more benefits to e-Books than real ones anyway:

E-books are cheaper for everyone

Ok, so I’m a huge collector of books. I have several bookshelves and at least a dozen boxes full of books, and those are just the ones I brought with me to California.

 

My idea of great decorating. Minus the stuffed animals. Oh, and everything would be arranged alphabetically by subject, then author, but we’ll not get into my OCD issues at the moment.

 

However, I also like shoes and silk underwear. E-books cost an average of $10, while hardback books average about $26 for new releases. The smaller paperbacks are less expensive, but about the same as the e-Book. It’s usually more expensive to actually produce an e-Book ($5 as compared to $.50 for a hardback) but that’s not counting the cost of making the paper and shipping the completed book.[1] I imagine producers end up making a bigger profit in the long run by saving on the shipping costs alone.

My apartment is not bigger on the inside

 

Not where I live. * le sigh * (Unrepentant Doctor Who fan here, btw.)

 

Don’t get me wrong, I love my books. Most of them are old friends and an inexpressible comfort to me. But paper books take up a lot of freaking space. They’re heavy and you have to buy furniture to house them as well. I live in an earthquake-prone area, and would be sorely pissed if I’m killed by a book avalanche. I can put over 10,000 books on my E-reader and have the knowledge of the world at my fingertips with the push of a button. Convenient and space saving.

 

Still waiting for one of these, though.

 

Love your mother—eBooks are greener

Ok, so maybe not all of you are hippies out there, but being good to the Earth is important to me. While there will be electronic waste because of these bad boys and they use electricity to charge, there will be much less cutting down of trees, which I think offsets the carbon footprint of the E-readers in their current incarnation.

 

I can totally feel its pain.

 

Besides, I fully expect e-waste recycling to get more prevalent, and for solar, wind and hydroelectricity to be lucrative in the near future, further offsetting the carbon footprint of electronic devices of all kinds, not just e-readers. That, however, is my personal opinion. I did a lot of research on this before I got one, and if you buy more than ten books a year you have a smaller carbon footprint by purchasing e-Books as opposed to paper ones. I buy ten books every few months.

You still have the important part

Like I said before, my books are old friends. The characters have been with me through the best and the worst of times, and no matter how many times I read them I always end up learning something new, either about the world or myself. It doesn’t matter to me if I actually have the well-thumbed, dog-eared, falling apart copy of Pride and Prejudice I got from a library book sale when I was twelve, or the massive, overpriced edition of Shakespeare’s plays and sonnets I was forced to buy from the college bookstore when I was taking British literature. What matters to me is that I have Mr. Darcy to drool over and the Bard’s words to thrill me.

If I want to have the smell of books as well, there’s a candle for that.

 

Mhm...book smell!

 

(Information from here and here was used in this article.)

6 responses to “Don’t Hate Me Because I’m Electronic

  1. This site is hilarious! I’m loving the content here! I admit I was one of those people who wouldn’t even consider an e-reader because I love books. I wanted the physical book in hand, turning pages, getting cuddly with it 🙂 After looking around my house one day to see what I could get rid of for spring cleaning, guess what was staring me right in my face??? A half a room full of books – most I need to give away but some which are, like you mentioned, inexpressible comfort 🙂

    Besides, now that I’m traveling a lot more and with the airlines gunning for all my money for luggage, an e-reader makes the experience MUCH lighter.

    I think I’m still concerned that one day I will be wearing the thickest of thick trifocals because I’m on the computer all day long for work and then read books via another computer …oh well! 😉

    ~Kesha

    • Hey, I’m glad you like the site! We’re still new, but we hope to keep the good content coming! Traveling is one of the main reasons I wanted to get an ereader; before I got married I lived in Georgia and my boyfriend (now hubby) lived in California! But there are a lot of other benefits as well, the ease of buying and price of ebooks included! Your comment about the reading glasses made me laugh. I’m sure I’m going to be the same way!

    • Thanks for the support! I’m definitely still in the “need a real book” camp, I won’t even read online comic books because it’s not the same type of experience for me…then again, I was in the “What’s the big deal about the iPhone?” camp as well, and then I finally got one.

      Changed my life, and I’ll never go back.

  2. I’ll probably get an e-reader when I get a real cell phone (I’ve had and loved my old pre-Blackberry flip phone for years and in fact just got a brand new one, same old model). It’s not the change I’m frightened of, it’s more that I don’t feel a need to change yet. But I’m not a book or phone snob! Also, LOVED the post, Evelet. Very fun to read!

Leave a Reply

